Repost from The Still Point: A brief conversation with medieval domestic objects

Fourth year English Department/ CLAMS PhD student Gabriela Cavalheiro reflects on the personal stories that run alongside her scholarly research for The Still Point Journal. Their submissions for Issue 2 are open until 21 February, and their blog accepts submissions all year round – take a look here.

The Still Point Journal

A pair of thirteenth-century shoes. Access granted by Museum of London. A pair of thirteenth-century shoes. Access granted by the Museum of London.

I don’t quite remember the first time I thought about my ‘career’; neither do I remember a pivotal moment when I realised what I wanted to ‘be’. The only thing I remember is that I always had a huge desire to talk. Yet I do recall one peculiar moment at school, when we built our own ‘medieval feud maquette’. I loved building that feud. I loved building the cardboard castle and the incredible water mill, flowing with blue jelly. I also remember the first time I ventured into my mom’s wardrobe, in the late 1990s, where I captured a golden rope watch and a blue silk Indian scarf she’d owned since the late 1980s. I loved finding those objects. I loved wearing them (still do!) and loved the idea that they were my heirlooms.

There it is: I’ve…

View original post 839 more words

Leave a Reply

